36 State Park Parking Lots Are Shut Down

California Governor Gavin Newsom’s stay-at-home orders to slow down coronavirus spread doesn’t mean the state is preventing residents from getting some fresh air.

As far as the state of California is concerned, it’s not unreasonable for social distancing hikes in some state parks too; just not the reckless residents who have crowded into several areas and risked further spread. So Newsom decided to close the parking lots at 36 of 280 state parks.

The San Jose Mercury News has more details:

The other 244 state parks remain open for now, and their parking lots remain open, said Gloria Sandoval, spokeswoman for the California state parks department. That could change if there are too many large crowds.

“The list is dynamic and will be updated regularly,” she said.

“State Parks will continue to monitor visitation and social distancing at all state park units and if the safety measures implemented today are not sufficient to protect public health, additional measures may be taken to fully close parks including trails, bathrooms, and other amenities,” she added in an email.

Here’s the full list of closures for now:

Los Angeles County:

  • Baldwin Hills Scenic Overlook
  • El Matador State Beach
  • Leo Carrillo State Park (SP)
  • Malibu Creek SP
  • Malibu Lagoon State Beach (SB)
  • Point Dume SB
  • RH Meyer SB
  • Topanga SP
  • Will Roger’s State Historic Park (SHP)

Marin County:

  • Angel Island SP
  • China Camp SP
  • Marconi Conference Center SHP
  • Mount Tamalpais SP
  • Olompali SHP
  • Samuel P. Taylor SP
  • Tomales Bay SP

San Mateo County:

  • Año Nuevo SP
  • Bean Hollow SB
  • Burleigh Murray SP
  • Cowell Ranch
  • Gray Whale Cove SB
  • Half Moon Bay SB
  • Montara SB
  • Pescadero SB
  • Pigeon Point Light Station SHP
  • Pomponio SB
  • San Gregorio SB

Sonoma County

  • Armstrong Redwoods SNR
  • Austin Creek SRA
  • Jack London SHP
  • Petaluma Adobe SHP
  • Sonoma Coast SP (and associated sub-units)
  • Sonoma State SHP
  • Sugarloaf Ridge SP
  • Trione-Annadel SP

San Diego County

  • Torrey Pines State Natural Reserve